HomePortalCalendarGalleryFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Help for a new roleplayer

Go down 
AuthorMessage

Help for a new roleplayer Empty
PostSubject: Help for a new roleplayer   Help for a new roleplayer Icon_minitimeSun Feb 17, 2008 3:18 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm a new recruit to the HC and I'm also new to role playing. I'd been interested in RP for while, but this is the first game that I've taken the plunge on. I'm finding it a lot harder than I imagined it would be, and I was hoping that some of you might be able to offer some tips. I also had a few questions.

1) Which chat channels should be kept in character, and which are OK for OOC?

2) When is OOC considered appropriate, and is there a way to show that a message is OOC? (For instance I've seen double parentheses around messages that seemed OOC. Is that a standard?)

3) Is it OK to refer to missions by name in otherwise in character chat?

I'm sure I'll think of some others, but that's it for now.

I'm looking forward to meeting more of the society in game. If I seem to be "a man of few words" be patient we me. I'm still trying to get the hang of this. Embarassed

Thanks
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: Re: Help for a new roleplayer   Help for a new roleplayer Icon_minitimeSun Feb 17, 2008 4:36 pm

Allo!

First off, let me commend you for asking such questions - they show you are already on the right path towards being a fine role-player. Some quick responses to your question from my perspective. I have been role-playing for over twenty years, having ran my own pen and paper games, as well as been guild leader and what not in a variety of other MMOs over the years, so hopefully some of that experience can help you as you get your feet wet.

1) Which chat channels should be kept in character, and which are OK for OOC?